roperty destruction charges in Minnesota such as damage to property are often the result of either personal disputes that escalate, road rage, or juvenile mischief such as vandalism.
If you either you lost your temper, or did something stupid that you regret, you shouldn’t have to be punished with a severe sentence and permanent criminal record. Our attorneys will go to bat for you, to negotiate hard for a reduction in charges or dismissal.
And if you are involved in a situation where you did nothing wrong, and are being accused by a vindictive person, we want to help clear your name and fight in your defense. You need to have your story told.
Whatever the case, we want to hear about exactly what happened to you. Call us to discuss your charges today, and we’ll offer you a free legal consultation and advice on exactly what we can do to help fix your unfortunate legal problem.
Facing criminal charges is difficult. If this is your first exposure to the Minnesota criminal courts, you are probably frightened at the unknown and unsure of what to expect. As your attorneys, it would be our responsibility to keep your informed and put your mind at ease.
And of course, to defend you, and only you. Our clients are our only responsibility when we go in that courtroom, and we take our role as defenders of the innocent and powerless very seriously. Find out for yourself in our free criminal case evaluation.
Minnesota Damage to Property – Laws & Penalties
Damage to Property – First Degree Penalties
Damage to property in the first degree is a felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $10,000. You may be charged with this offense if you cause damage to someone else’s property without their consent and:
1. The damage caused a reasonably foreseeable risk of bodily harm;
2. The property belonged to a common carrier and the damage prevents use;
3. The value of damage is greater than $1,000; or
4. The damage is valued at more than $500 and you have been previously convicted of this offense within the last 3 years.
Damage to Property – Second Degree Penalties
Slightly less serious, 2nd degree damage to property is also a felony but only punishable by up to 1 years in prison and fines reaching $3,000. If you damage property that doesn’t fit the criteria for 1st degree criminal damage but is done because of the owner’s race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, or disability, you could be charged with this felony offense.
Damage to Property – Third Degree Penalties
If you damage someone else’s property without their consent and the damage is valued at more than $500 and less than $1,000 you may face 3rd degree criminal damage charges and up to one year in prison and $3,000 in fines as well as a gross misdemeanor conviction on your record.
Damage to Property – Fourth Degree Penalties
If the value of damage is less than $500, the offense is 4th degree damage to property and considered a misdemeanor. This misdemeanor offense is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and fines reaching $1,000.
Ref: Minnesota Statute §609.595
Minnesota Arson Laws
Arson laws in Minnesota are very complex and confusing. If you are charged with arson you could be facing anywhere from 90 days to 20 years in prison along with hefty fines. So many factors influence your charge and potential sentence that you are recommended to contact an attorney to get a good idea of what type of sentence you may be facing for your charge.
Things like your intent, the type of property that was burned, and what was used to burn the property are all important factors in determining the charges you will face and the subsequent potential sentence.
Ref: Minnesota Statute §609.561
Get Your Free Case Evaluation on any Minnesota Property Damage Criminal Charge
Property crimes can be very serious offenses. Don’t think that because no one was injured during the offense that you will be let off lightly. In order to be certain that you will receive the best possible results in court, you need an experienced Minnesota criminal defense lawyer fighting for you every step of the way.
Call for a consultation on your arson or damage to property charges today.