Minnesota domestic assault charges and related domestic violence cases are the most difficult kind for all parties. You are feeling stressed about the charges against you and might even feel betrayed by your family. Your friends and people in your life may be judging you and you might feel like there is nowhere to turn.
We know what you are up against and want to help you through this trying time. Domestic violence laws are created to protect the victim. For this reason, you may feel like you are being treated unfairly. We can help ensure that your rights are being protected at every stage of the criminal justice process.
And we also know that these arrests and accusations are often made on the flimsiest of evidence, and by police with very limited information. They will often charge people just to be “on the safe side”.
More than likely you regret the day of the offense. You may have let your anger get the best of you and now wish you could “undo” the damage that was done. Perhaps, however, your actions were misinterpreted and you shouldn’t be facing these charges at all.
Whatever the situation, we can help. We want to hear the specifics of your case. We want you to feel confident in your choice of legal representation.
Minnesota Domestic Violence Laws – Defined
Domestic violence is not just violence between married couples. The legal definition of “domestic” is much broader then you might think. Any of the following relationships could be considered “domestic” under Minnesota law:
Minnesota Statute §518B.01
Domestic Assault – Laws & Penalties
If you do either of the following against someone with whom you have a domestic relationship, you can be charged with domestic assault:
1. Commit an act with intent to cause fear of immediate bodily harm or death
2. Intentionally cause or attempt to cause bodily harm upon another.
How you are charged depends largely on any criminal history or prior offenses.
If you have never been involved in a domestic assault case, you will face a misdemeanor charge with a potential sentence of up to 90 days in jail and $1,000 in fines.
However, if this is your second domestic assault case in less than 10 years, you will face a gross misdemeanor charge and potential sentence of up to 1 year in jail and $3,000 in fines.
Felony domestic assault is applicable if you have 2 or more domestic assault convictions in less than 10 years. This charge carries up to 5 years in state prison and fines reaching $10,000.
Keep in mind, if there was a protection or no contact order in place at the time of the offense, you may be facing separate and additional charges for the violation of the order.
Free Legal Consultation on Any Minnesota Domestic Assault Offense
This is a serious offense and one that is treated as such in the Minnesota criminal courts. When you are facing a domestic violence conviction on your record, you want to be certain that you have the best possible representation. Call for a consultation on your case today.