Felony drug charges in Minnesota such as possession with intent to sell bring stiff penalties. Facing prison time and a felony record can be very intimidating and we know you are under serious stress. You desperately need someone on your side to fight for you and try to resolve this serious legal problem.
When facing charges as serious as this it may feel like everyone is against you. You might wonder how a fair trial is possible when it seems as if you have already been judged. But we firmly believe you are innocent until proven guilty. And as MN defense lawyers, we are here to ensure your rights are protected at every stage of the criminal justice process and work toward getting you the results you want.
Having handled many serious drug cases in Minnesota, we know what serious consequences you are up against. Please contact us to get answers to your questions and find out what we can do to defend you in court.
Minnesota Possession with Intent – Laws & Penalties
If you are caught in possession of a controlled substance and the police and prosecutor determine it was your intent to sell it, you could be charged with a fourth degree controlled substance offense. This charge carries a potential sentence of 15 years in prison and $100,000 in fines.
The police and prosecution can determine your intent from several things surrounding the incident. For instance, possession of baggies, scales, and large amounts of cash could all be indications that you were intending on selling the drugs.
Possession with intent just means that the police suspect you intended to sell drugs. We are always prepared to challenge these facts, and fight to get the charges reduced to simple possession.
Ref: Minnesota Statute §152.024
Sale of Controlled Substances in MN – Laws & Penalties
The charges you may face if caught selling drugs vary widely. Depending on the substance you are caught with, the amount, and the number of times you sold it you could be facing up to 30 years in prison and fines up to 1 million dollars.
Ref: Minnesota Statute §152.021
Possession of Substances with Intent to Manufacture Methamphetamines
Minnesota laws is particularly tough on meth related distribution and manufacturing charges. If you are caught with the tools and or ingredients to manufacture or cook methamphetamines, you could be charged with this very serious felony charge. This offense carries a potential prison term of up to 10 years and fines reaching $20,000.
Ref: Minnesota Statute §152.0262
Minnesota Driver’s License Revocation – (Drug Charge Related)
If it is determined that your controlled substance violation was related to your driving, for instance distributing from your car, your license may be revoked for 30 days. If your license is already suspended or revoked, the suspension will be extended for 30 additional days
Ref: Minnesota Statute §152.0271
There are many drug offenses on the Minnesota books in addition to those listed here. Because of the complexity of the controlled substance laws, a consultation with an experienced attorney is vital. Call to discuss your case today.
Serious Drug Charges in Minnesota? Get Top Legal Advice Right Away!
If you are accused of selling a controlled substance you cannot waste any time in contacting an attorney. You probably already know that you are at considerable risk of significant jail time.
Our attorneys need to determine your defense options quickly. If you wait, you may lose the opportunity to file critical defense motions by key court deadlines. Now is the time to take advantage of our free legal defense case evaluation on your Minnesota drug charges.
Minnesota sale and distribution laws are complex. But there are always options to fight the charges in court. Don’t give up hope, and call us today.