If you’ve been in an accident the last thing on your mind may be the laws of Minnesota. But if you are required to stop according to Minnesota law, after any accident. So if you have been charged with hit and run in Minnesota, you need an experienced defense attorney working on your behalf.
Following an auto accident, your adrenaline is sky high and you may not be thinking clearly. If the accident was your fault, you might fear the consequences and make a bad decision to leave the scene before help arrives, or without notifying anyone about what happened.
If you reacted badly in a moment of panic, we know you probably regret the actions that led you to this criminal charge. When you feel like no one is interested in hearing your side of things, we are. We want to know how the accident happened and what happened immediately after.
However, there are also many cases of hit and run that were not your fault. Of course, if you weren’t even the one that was driving, then you can’t be charged. Maybe it was your car, and someone else was behind the wheel. You may have been present, or you may have been nowhere near the scene of the accident when it happened, if someone else borrowed your car.
But you may need to fight to extract yourself from this legal mess, and explain and defend yourself in court. And that can be difficult to do alone. You just can’t risk a criminal charge for something you didn’t do.
We have handled many hit and run cases before in Minnesota courts and know what you are up against. Please contact us for a case evaluation, so we can walk through the facts of your case, and tell you what to expect. And we’ll lay out exactly how we think we can help.
Minnesota Car Accident & The Duty To Stop
When you are involved in an accident, you have a legal obligation to stop your vehicle as soon as possible and return to the scene of the accident.
At the scene you are required to give the other driver or law enforcement your name, address, date or birth, and registration. If the other driver requests it, you are also to show your driver’s license. If someone is injured in the accident you should reasonably assist them until help arrives.
If you hit an unattended vehicle you should make reasonable attempts to locate the other driver, notify the police, or leave your information in a conspicuous place for the other owner to find.
When you fail to follow through with your duty to stop, you can be charged with hit and run, a criminal offense in MN.
Minnesota Hit and Run – Laws & Penalties
The charges you face for hit and run depend on the result of the accident.
If the accident results in the death of an individual, you face felony charges and a potential sentence of up to 3 years in prison and fines reaching $5,000.
If the accident results in great bodily harm of someone you will face felony charges and a potential sentence of up to 2 years in prison and fines up to $4,000.
Great bodily harm is defined as bodily injury which creates a high probability of death, or which causes serious permanent disfigurement or loss of use of an organ or member.
If the accident results in substantial bodily harm or less you face up to one year in prison and $3,000 in fines.
Substantial bodily harm is defined as one which causes a temporary but serious disfigurement or loss of member, or a fracture.
If you fail to report an accident you also risk license suspension for a length of time to be determined by the judge.
Ref: Minnesota Statute §169.09
Accused of A Hit and Run Offense in Minnesota?
Hit and run is a serious criminal charge under MN law. We are interested in your case and want to help you. Call for a consultation today.