Criminal charges involving weapons or firearms are taken very seriously in Minnesota. If you are facing charges like this you are probably very concerned about what may happen when you go in front of the judge. A qualified and experience defense attorney who is there to protect your rights can be critical for the right outcome.
You may feel like the system is out to get you and you couldn’t possibly have a fair day in court. That’s where we can help. We can ensure that your rights are protected at every stage of the criminal process. You are innocent until proven guilty, and we will insist that you are treated as such, and all possible defenses are pursued.
In order to help you, we need to hear from you. We want to know your side of things and how these charges came about. We want to be on your team when you go to court. Call us for a free consultation to find out exactly what we can do to help you.
Minnesota Misdemeanor Weapons Charges
Several weapons offenses are considered misdemeanors and punishable by up to 90 days in jail and fines reaching $1,000. Those offenses include the following:
- Recklessly handling a gun or other dangerous weapon or explosive to endanger the safety of another,
- Intentionally pointing a gun, whether loaded or unloaded, at or toward another,
- Manufacturing or selling a slingshot or “sand club”,
- Manufacturing, transferring, or possessing metal knuckles or a switch blade, or
- Possessing any other dangerous article or substance for the purpose of being used as a weapon against another.
If the offense was committed in a public housing zone, school property, or park the charge can be elevated to a gross misdemeanor and punishable instead by up to one year in jail and $3,000 in fines.
Minnesota Felony Weapons Charges
The following two instances are felony weapons offenses that are punishable by up to two years in prison and $5,000 in fines:
1. Selling or possessing any firearm silencer or sound muffler, or
2. Recklessly discharging a firearm within city limits.
If either of these two offenses are committed on public housing property, school property, or in a park the potential sentence is elevated to up to 5 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
Likewise if you intentionally discharge a firearm in a situation that endangers the safety of another you will be sentenced to a potential 5 year prison term and $10,000 in fines.
Firing a weapon from a vehicle is another serious felony. The offense “drive by shooting”, however also applies if you exit the vehicle.
The law states that if you recklessly discharge a firearm at or toward another vehicle or a building while in or just having exited from a motor vehicle, you can be charged and sentenced to up to 3 years in prison and $6,000 in fines.
If the weapon is fired at or toward a person or occupied building or vehicle, the potential sentence is elevated to 10 years and $20,000.
Ref: Minnesota Statutes §609.66
Charged with Illegal Weapons Possession or other Offenses in MN? Call for a Free Consultation.
Our attorneys have very likely handled weapons cases like yours before. You know you need a skilled law firm on your side when facing a situation this serious. Call for our consultation and discuss your Minnesota weapons charges today.